View Full Version : Word 2007 - Find and select all text until...

llyamah
03-12-2012, 10:56 AM
Hello All

Before you reply I'd like to point out that in previous posts I've been informed that I have breached forum etiquette (posting the same question in other forums, poor title). I'd like to apologise for any offence caused. Please bear with me since I am quite new to this. Thank you for any help that you can offer.

How would I modify the below code so that, rather than stopping when the word 'Italy' is found, it stops when any string that fulfils certain conditions is found. The conditions are:

1) It finds some more text that is underlined; or
2) It finds some text that is not black; or
3) It finds one of five particular phrases

Also, I will be looping this so that it goes through the rest of the document to find other instances of 'Ireland' that are underlined and then selecting the text below until the three conditions are met. Esentially I am looking to have everything in the document that relates to 'Ireland' highlighted, ready to copy and paste into a new document.

Thanks again, here is the macro:

Sub Ireland()
'
' Ireland Macro
'
'
Selection.Find.ClearFormatting
Selection.Find.Font.Underline = wdUnderlineSingle
With Selection.Find
.Text = "Ireland"
.Replacement.Text = ""
.Forward = True
.Wrap = wdFindContinue
.Format = True
.MatchCase = False
.MatchWholeWord = False
.MatchWildcards = False
.MatchSoundsLike = False
.MatchAllWordForms = False
End With
Selection.Find.Execute
Selection.Extend
Selection.Find.ClearFormatting
Selection.Find.Font.Underline = wdUnderlineSingle
With Selection.Find
.Text = "Italy"
.Replacement.Text = ""
.Forward = True
.Wrap = wdFindAsk
End With
Selection.Find.Execute
End Sub

akuini
03-15-2012, 11:37 AM
Can you give a sample of your document ( use the attachment), just use fake data but with the same layout.

3) It finds one of five particular phrases

What are the five particular phrases?

llyamah
03-15-2012, 01:52 PM
Hi akuini