PDA

View Full Version : Emulation question

georgiboy
03-15-2012, 11:29 PM
Hi all

I work in a warehouse environment where we use a system that seems to run through telnet, i have been writing code for the system for years now with the use of sendkeys to turn pages and reading the cursor location to decipher if pages have loaded or not. This code that i write according to telnet is vba but it has a few differences like MsgBox("Hello") would not work it would need to be Print "Hello".

My question is: When i turn pages i have to make the code wait 1 second per page using the line of code: "EMWaitCursor 1,5,1" Now this will wait 1 second because the cursor never hits that location and the cursor does not move on page changes. Does anyone know of a way i can make it wait half a second or less as EMWaitCursor 0.5,5,1 will not work?

Will it have to be some code that will read a line off each page to prove that the page has changed before it pages again?

Maybe Excel could do the above for me if i knew how to make it talk to telnet, then it could pull the information into Excel. At current the telnet vba pushes data to a text file on the C drive then Excel pulls it out and manipulates it.

Any help will be appreciated

Many thanks for looking

Kenneth Hobs
03-16-2012, 05:34 AM
SendKeys() should be avoided when possible for those reasons. Howsoever, it is probably your only option. Of course timing and focus are the two issues with SendKeys() as-well-as the need for UAC to be off.

Rather than a time wait method, I use a loop looking for a window's handle and then set the focus. If you have a unique window that you can loop and wait for, that is the best approach. To spy on the windows, try this free api spy program: http://patorjk.com/blog/software/

Example for Notepad: http://vbaexpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=26601

georgiboy
03-16-2012, 06:37 AM
Hi Ken, thanks for your reply.

Unfortunately it is against my company policy to run .exe files on our system.