PDA

View Full Version : Create formulas using multiple pop-up input boxes?

rcross23
03-22-2012, 11:07 AM
Hey guys,

I'm trying to create a macro so that whenever i hit the keys assigned to the macro, it will bring up a serious of pop-up input boxes, so that i can enter data (both numeric and text) and then have it create a pre-defined formula using the information that was entered into the boxes.

For instance, one formula i would like to make a macro for would be =cw_act("X","Y->Z"), where X, Y, and Z would be populated by the input boxes.

Even better would be if the pop-up box would have a pre-populated list of formula options and then depending on which one i select (by number) it would dictate which pop-up boxes I am given and therefore which formula is created.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

CatDaddy
03-22-2012, 11:14 AM
maybe a userform is the way to go?

rcross23
03-22-2012, 11:15 AM
I'm sorry, but I am very new at all of this. Could you walk me through what you are talking about and how I would set that up? Thanks for your quick reply!

CatDaddy
03-22-2012, 11:24 AM
http://contextures.com/xlUserForm01.html

rcross23
03-22-2012, 11:30 AM
thanks, i will try that out. not sure it is exactly what i was looking for though. im thinking more along the lines of "i hit ctrl-p, it pops up a box with 4 options of formulas, i select one by hitting 1-4, then depending on what option i select, it pops up 3 boxes, one after another, prompting me for the different parts of the formula. Then after the third box, it automatically creates the formula in whatever cell i had initially selected."

rcross23
03-23-2012, 07:42 AM
Anyone else have any thoughts or ideas? I know someone has to know how to do this. It would really help me out. Thanks!

mikerickson
03-24-2012, 09:46 AM
It would be easier to help if we knew which formula options you want avaliable.