PDA

View Full Version : Toggle Show/Hide text

stylus
04-10-2012, 12:28 PM
I have google searched and fiddled around with a few different snippets of code I found but cannot get this to work. Sorry I am a noob.

I have around 3000 word documents that are work instructions for different tasks. The customer contacted us to see if we can update all 3000 of the documents to add checkboxes beside each step and make the checkboxes hide/show at the click of a button. It will be a global hide/show of all checkboxes in the document. When I say checkboxes I mean when the paper is printed hardcopy the technician can use a pen and check the box indicating the step was done. It can be a square box, or a line or whatever.

Part A: The customer wants to add a checkbox or underscore line ("___") infront if each individual step so that the technician can check off each step as they are done.

Part B: be able to show/hide the checkboxes so that the work instructions can be copied and pasted elsewhere with out including the checkboxes when pasted.

I have found some tools that will do find and replace of text within a folder full of documents, I was going to try one of them. I figured I could find and replace the action words used at the beginning of each step in the work instruction. Find "Pull" Replace with "___ Pull" there are 5-6 action words that are used pretty consistantly so I can get a large part of the boxes or underscores inserted and fix the rest during proofreading etc...

I cannot get past the part of toggle show/hide text so I haven't started the find and replace to insert checkboxes yet because I don't know if the checkboxes should be underscores with font=hidden, or a textbox, an image, a bookmark etc...