PDA

View Full Version : date and variable in file SaveAs name

RKFerguson
04-12-2012, 11:27 AM
Hi folks,

I want to save a file from a template and I want the file name to comprise the constant "IRF-" then the date in format ddmmyyyy followed by a variable that gets calculated by VBA code in the macro-enabled template.

I have succeeded in saving the files with the variable as part of the name, but am less than successful adding the date.

Here is what I am trying-

ActiveDocument.SaveAs FileName:="C:\User\xxxxxxx\desktop\IRF-" & Format(Date, "ddmmyyyy") & Format(IRSN, "00#")

Any suggestions? Be kind, I am not a programmer.... ;-)

Thanks,

Fergie

Talis
04-12-2012, 11:50 AM
Dim myDate As String

myDate = Format(Date, "mmddyyyy")
ActiveDocument.SaveAs FileName:="C:\User\xxxxxxx\desktop\IRF-" & myDate & Format(IRSN, "00#")
Put the Dim statement with the other Dims near the beginning of the subroutine that contains the SaveAs statement.

Talis
04-13-2012, 01:41 PM
No response!
Not sure what IRSN is despite Googling for it. Assuming it's a number you would use a similar technique as for date, ie
Dim myIRSN As String
Dim myDate As String
myIRSN = Format(IRSN, "00#")
myDate = Format(Date, "mmddyyyy")
ActiveDocument.SaveAs FileName:="C:\User\xxxxxxx\desktop\IRF-" & myDate & myIRSN

This technique uses Word's ability to switch some types of variable during assignment avoiding the use of functions to do the same thing.

It would be polite of you to respond when someone makes the effort to try and help you.

I see from your previous post:

http://www.vbaexpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=27207

that you didn't reply then.

fumei
04-13-2012, 02:17 PM
IRSN? I believe it is: "with the variable as part of the name"

A variable.

Should not "that you didn't reply then" be "that you did not reply then...as well"?

<chuckle>

'tis disappointing at times, n'est pas?

</chuckle>