PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Runtime Error 6028

flohrstw
04-13-2012, 12:18 PM
'm adding a UserForm to a Word template. Upon submitting the form, I receive 'Runtime Error 6028 - The range cannot be deleted'. The debugger points to the following script:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Private Sub CmdSubmit_Click()

Application.ScreenUpdating = False

With ActiveDocument

--> .Bookmarks("Text1").Range.Text = txtUserName.Value

.Bookmarks("Text2").Range.Text = txtTest1.Value

.Bookmarks("Text3").Range.Text = txtTest2.Value

.Bookmarks("Text4").Range.Text = txtTest1.Value

End With

Application.ScreenUpdating = True

Unload Me

End Sub
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

This is a simple test form I have created before I begin working on the real document. On occassion, there will be values that are displayed in multiple places, hence the repition of txtTest1.

I am new to VB coding and any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

fumei
04-13-2012, 02:05 PM
6028 is a stange error.

First of all are you sure you are using bookmarks? Are they possibly formfield instead? Do you protect your document for forms?

Here is the thing; when you make a bookmark RANGE.text some text, the bookmark is deleted. It is gone after you put text into the range.text.

Unless this is what you want (and I doubt it), one possible solution is the recreate the bookmark with the text, like this:Sub UpdateBM(strBM As String, strText As String)
Dim r As Range
Set r = ActiveDocument.Bookmarks(strBM).Range
r.Text = strText
ActiveDocument.Bookmarks.Add Name:=strBM, Range:=r
End SubYou CALL the sub with your parameter values; like this:
Private Sub CmdSubmit_Click()
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
With ActiveDocument
Call UpdateBM("Text1", txtUserName.Value)
Call UpdateBM("Text2", txtTest1.Value)