PDA

View Full Version : Parse email messages to Excel/Access

paradox34690
05-07-2012, 11:50 PM
Hi everyone!

This is my first post here on VBAX (yay me) and I'll just be honest, I have a task and I have NO IDEA how hard/easy this is going to be, but was hoping to get some pointers here.

I can usually be found on vbforums.com or trolling various forums to find out how to do things; I've developed multiple VB applications for the company I'm working for, have made many-a-VBA macro in Excel that have a myriad of functions (data archiving, emailing schedules out, automatic calculations, etc). I'm saying all this so I'm not viewed as a complete noob.

Now that we have that out of the way:

I've taken on a project of going through about 5000 email messages, gathering all the data in these messages, and then putting this data into a spreadsheet so it can be used as a metric tracker. The problem is that doing it manually takes FOREVER; There simply HAS to be a better way.

Is there a method to go through an archived PST file, look in a folder in that PST file, and extract all the data from each message?

I'll be more than happy to post a copy of the template that is used as well as a final "product" of what these emails typically look like when they're completed if needed; I just want to know how feasible it is.

Thanks! :hi:

JP2112
05-08-2012, 11:25 AM
Is there a method to go through an archived PST file, look in a folder in that PST file, and extract all the data from each message?

Yes, yes and yes. A .pst file is just a message store, you would iterate it the same way you would iterate any mailbox (assuming it is added to your profile). The exact method depends on your Outlook version.

Ex:

Sub TestLoop()
Dim inboxFolder As Outlook.MAPIFolder
Dim i As Long
Set inboxFolder = Session.GetDefaultFolder(olFolderInbox)

For i = 1 To inboxFolder.Items.Count
MsgBox inboxFolder.Items.Item(i).Subject
Next i
End Sub