PDA

View Full Version : Autoupdate Dropbox Values

mike112
06-04-2012, 07:47 AM
Hi guys,

Probably a basic problem, but I currently have a dropdown that contains a list off of which contents are on Sheet1. The problem I'm having is if I have an item selected on the drop menu and change the data on Sheet1, the selected item from the menu is still what it used to be.

Hopefully there's a quick and easy solution to update the data, possible on Worksheet_Change I'm thinking?

Any help would be great! : pray2:

Bob Phillips
06-04-2012, 08:05 AM
Use a defined range name for the items and reference that in the dropdown (PS DropBox is a file sharing facility :))

mike112
06-04-2012, 08:23 AM
Use a defined range name for the items and reference that in the dropdown (PS DropBox is a file sharing facility :))

I meant a drop down list haha :rotlaugh: . (Validation) And as far as your directions I'm not fully understanding. (I'm basically brand new to VBA/Excel.. I really only know the basics.)

Bob Phillips
06-04-2012, 09:29 AM
Create a defined name by going into Formulas>NameManager>New, give it a name and a RefersTo of something like

=OFFSET($H$1,0,0,COUNTA($H:$H),1)

assuming that your data starts in H1, and in the DV use the name in the formula like so

=myName

mike112
06-04-2012, 11:28 AM
Create a defined name by going into Formulas>NameManager>New, give it a name and a RefersTo of something like

=OFFSET($H$1,0,0,COUNTA($H:$H),1)

assuming that your data starts in H1, and in the DV use the name in the formula like so

=myName

I've tried it and haven't had any luck. I'll upload a part of my workbook to show you what's going on. The drop downs are on Template, while the data it's looking at is on Design Conditions. (rows Q on both) If you change the data on Design Conditions, the only way for the drop downs to update is to manually reselect the option again.

mike112
06-05-2012, 07:04 AM