PDA

View Full Version : Macro - Move Deleted Items to Archived Folder

e.shol
06-06-2012, 07:19 AM
Hello,

I am fairly new to VBA (for the past month or two, I've been relying on recording macros in Excel then tweaking to my ability), and am need of some assistance for writing a macro in Outlook.

For the macro, I want something that will run every time I open the program, moving any items in my 'Deleted' folder that are older than 60 days to an archived folder called 'Archived Deleted Items' (nested within a folder called 'Retention Folders').

Any assistance is much appreciated - thanks!

JP2112
06-06-2012, 10:36 AM
Welcome to the forum. Unfortunately, Outlook doesn't let us record macros.

There are a couple of events that fire when Outlook starts, the one I use is Application_Startup (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb147656(v=office.12).aspx):

Private Sub Application_Startup()

End Sub

First you'll want a reference to the items in the Deleted Items folder. Since this is one of Outlook's default folders, a reference is easy:

Dim delItems As Outlook.Items
Set delItems = Outlook.Session.GetDefaultFolder(olFolderDeletedItems).Items

End Sub

I assume here that you want the Deleted Items folder for your default mailbox.

Now we need to filter the Items collection so we only have items that are > 60 days old. We use the Restrict (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb220369(v=office.12).aspx) method to return a filtered subset of the items collection we are working with.

Dim olddelItems As Outlook.Items

Set olddelItems = delItems.Restrict("[ReceivedTime] > " & Quote(Date - 60))
End Sub

Function Quote(MyText) As String
' from Sue Mosher's excellent book "Microsoft Outlook Programming"
Quote = Chr(34) & MyText & Chr(34)
End Function

Now we want to move the items in the olddelItems collection to the 'Archived' folder. We need to loop backwards when moving items. The final procedure looks like this:

Dim archiveFolder As Outlook.MAPIFolder