PDA

View Full Version : filter data and than load it into master file

coolin
06-14-2012, 11:32 PM
Hello people,

I have a master xls file that needs to be updated monthly with data from source file.

I want to create a button on the master file with a macro attached that will check the headers from the source file to have the same value and order like the headers in the master file, in case of differences a msg box must will say that are differances between the 2 headers, and the macro will stop. I have to do this checking part because the header of the source file can be changed (order of the columns or titles.)
In case there are no differences between the 2 files, I want the source file to do a filter on "Deal Description" column for values that contain "MDP", copy and paste data in the master file on the next available blank row, than do another filter on "Pre-Sales ID" column for values that contain "DDP", copy and paste data in the master file on the next available blank row.

Note that the source file must be open before the macro will start, in case it's close a msg box should appear with a message to open the source file.

I have attached the structure of the master file were I have to add the button that will do the check and all filtering and copy and pasting.
If anyone have done something similar I will appreciate the help.

Thanks!

Tinbendr
06-15-2012, 06:33 AM
Welcome to the board!

If you've posted this elsewhere, please provide the link to that site as well.

Instead of telling us how you want it written, why don't you state the problem and let us help you resolve it.

It would help if we had a sample of the source file, too. Make three different sheets with different column headers as you describe.

What range of information do you want copied to the Master? Any row filtered gets copied to the Master? Same with both filters?

coolin
06-15-2012, 08:11 AM
Welcome to the board!