PDA

View Full Version : Help with VB in Excel 2010

Denice B
06-26-2012, 09:27 AM
I am new to this programming stuff and still have a lot to learn I need help to query an array and remove the duplicate values. In essence I need to build the array and loop through it to only count the distinct values so that I can write them to another spreadsheet. Here is the beginning of my code I just don't know where to go from here.

Basically the data sheet I am pulling from has an ubound of 251 of the 251 I only need 94 items.

Dim loc() As String
Dim i As Integer
Dim row As Integer

row = 2

For i = 0 To count
Do While Sheets("Data").Cells(row, 4) <> ""
row = row + 1
Loop
count = row - 2
Next

ReDim Preserve loc(count)

I know I need to create a second unique array but how do I only add the distinct values to it. Please someone help... I am getting very frustrated and on a deadline.

Thanks in Advance

CodeNinja
06-26-2012, 09:43 AM
Denise B,
Welcome to the forum. It sounds to me like you are trying to hang a picture frame with a nail and a sledge hammer... There is likely a much simpler solution for your needs.

It would help a lot if you gave a very small sampling of what you want done (before and after) 3 or 4 rows of data should be more than enough...

Jan Karel Pieterse
06-26-2012, 09:44 AM
It is probably easiest if you use the advanced filter to copy the table with duplicates to a temporary sheet and read the resulting table into your variable.

Denice B
06-26-2012, 10:19 AM
Thanks for the fast response here is the data that I am pulling in:

Column A2 - Employee Name
Column B2 - Team Name
Column C2 - Region Name
Column D2 - Location Name