PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Calling a user form

imellor
07-04-2012, 09:55 AM
I am a newbie to VBA and I am currently trying to call a userform a command button.

I am trying to write the code, so it can be reused hence using the string sForm

' When "Update button on "Dashboard" clicked, open user form
Private Sub Update1_Click()
Call OpenUserForm("UsrFrmGetFile")
End Sub

and

Option Explicit
Sub OpenUserForm(sForm As String)
sForm.Show
End Sub

However I recieve a compile error saying "invalid qualifier", I have searched this forum and Google, but can't understand how to pass UsrFrmGetFile to my OpenUserForm function.

Can anyone point me in the correct direction please?

Ian

Bob Phillips
07-04-2012, 10:19 AM
End Sub

Public Sub OpenUserForm(FormName As String)
Dim oUserForm As Object
On Error GoTo err
Set oUserForm = UserForms.Add(FormName)
oUserForm.Show
Exit Sub
err:
Select Case err.Number
Case 424:
MsgBox "The Userform with the name " & FormName & " was not found.", vbExclamation, "Load userforn by name"
Case Else:
MsgBox err.Number & ": " & err.Description, vbCritical, "Load userforn by name"
End Select
End Sub

imellor
07-04-2012, 11:43 AM
End Sub

Public Sub OpenUserForm(FormName As String)
Dim oUserForm As Object
On Error GoTo err
Set oUserForm = UserForms.Add(FormName)
oUserForm.Show
Exit Sub
err:
Select Case err.Number
Case 424:
MsgBox "The Userform with the name " & FormName & " was not found.", vbExclamation, "Load userforn by name"
Case Else:
MsgBox err.Number & ": " & err.Description, vbCritical, "Load userforn by name"
End Select
End Sub

Thank you for your prompt response, am I right in thinking that my code didn't work, because the form is an object?

Also where do you look up UserForms.add, I looked here, but is not listed msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb149081.aspx

Ian

Paul_Hossler
07-04-2012, 12:32 PM
Assuming that sForm exists already ...

Option Explicit
UserForms (sForm).Show
End Sub

should work

Paul

imellor