PDA

View Full Version : Solved: VBA Code Help please :)

curious_24
09-11-2012, 08:59 PM
Hi,
I'm fairly new to VBA Code and so have been reading alot but feel a bit all over the place atm - so any direction to "useful" links will be much appreciated. Anyways I'm trying to create a macro button that will compare a list of dates to the current date and than change the font of dates that have passed to red. I've created a macro button that will change a selection of cells font to red, just need to work on the other details of comparing the dates and selecting the past dates only (complicated part) lol...Any help much appreciated.

jolivanes
09-11-2012, 10:39 PM
Try this. Dates to compare to today are in Column A and start at A2.
Change the Row and Column references as required.

Sub CompareToToday()
Dim Today
Dim c As Range
Today = Now
For Each c In Range("A2:A" & Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row)
If c.Value < Today Then c.Interior.Color = vbRed
Next c
End Sub

Bob Phillips
09-12-2012, 12:12 AM
Why not just use conditional formatting with a formula of

=A2<TODAY()

and a format of red. That way it automatically keeps itself refreshed.

curious_24
09-12-2012, 02:19 PM
@jolivanes - thanks it runs almost perfect except that it highlights the spaces in between as well (also I've just added -1 to Today, so that it doesn't highlight today's date as well as I only want the past dates) :) Do you have any suggestions? appreciate the help.
@xld - tried that as well and it highlights the wrong cell lol, but I guess I need to play around with it more if the above doesn't work out. thanks heaps though :)

jolivanes
09-12-2012, 03:40 PM
Replace the word "Interior" with "Font" (without quotations)

curious_24
09-12-2012, 03:57 PM
thanks again for your help I've resolved the problem:
I just added:
And c.Value <> "" Then c.Font.Color = vbRed

Your awesome jolivane :)
thanks again.

jolivanes
09-12-2012, 10:20 PM
Thank you for the feed back

Bob Phillips
09-13-2012, 01:36 AM