PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Branch to specific line in another macro



vanhunk
09-12-2012, 01:37 AM
Is it possible to branch from one macro to a specific line in another macro, i.e. skip a couple of lines of the second macro? Thanks

BrianMH
09-12-2012, 01:43 AM
I don't think so. But you could put the first couple of lines of the macro into another macro and then you can call it either from the new macro or the one you are currently wanting to call it for. Breaking things up into seperate functions can be very useful.

snb
09-12-2012, 03:36 AM
Of course.



private sn
sub snb()
sn="something"
illustration
sn=""
end sub

sub illustration()
if sn<> "something" then
msgbox "you see ?"
end if
msgbox "this is where we jump to if called by macro 'snb'"
end sub

vanhunk
09-12-2012, 08:42 AM
Thanks snb, you always comes through for me. I knew you could do it.

Paul_Hossler
09-12-2012, 09:52 AM
You could pass an optional parameter to skip lines


Option Explicit
Sub Higher()
Call Lower(True)
Call Lower

End Sub

Sub Lower(Optional SkipSomeLines As Boolean = False)

If Not SkipSomeLines Then

MsgBox "Executing the first line"
MsgBox "Executing the second line"

End If

MsgBox "Executing the third line"
End Sub


Paul

vanhunk
09-13-2012, 12:17 AM
Thanks Paul, I like it.