PDA

View Full Version : Sleeper: Trace User changes/force save via VBA

Immatoity
07-28-2005, 03:33 AM
Hi,

I am a newbie to VBA, and these forums are amazing.cheers
However being a "newbie" you will have to excuse my "simple question"?. I also cannot search the forums due to work firewall vagaries.

I have an excel file that approx 10-12 separate users need to go into, one after another , and make changes to a certain sheet. The supervisor of these users wants to be sure that once they open the file, they cannot change data,without being forced to save.
In other words, they must save the file if they change any data on the said sheet, and a record of who changed what and when is available
somewhere the supervisor can easily see who has done what, without him using VBA( he knows nothing VBA wise at all).
They used to print a report off and sign it manually, that way they had "proof" the individuals had done their bit -they want the same.

I have a list of the users, and their network logins, but don't really know where to start.

I was thinking of a more simple solution along the lines of seting up a worksheet as below, and once the user entered yes next to their name it saves the file.
However, my concern was that any other user could enter a yes against another users name, or delete others "yes" entries after, and no log?

USER
Joe Bloggs Yes
Ted Jones Yes

Any help is massively appreciated?thanks in advance you wizards!

Killian
07-28-2005, 04:40 AM
Hi and welcome to VBAX :hi:

You can add some code to the Worksheet_change event of each sheet you want to monitor to achieve this

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
MsgBox Now & ": Worksheet " & ActiveSheet.Name & " cell " & Target.Address _
& " value changed to " & Target.Value & " by user " & Environ("USERNAME")
End Sub

As you can see, its just a message box but you can send this string to a log worksheet (that you can hide so the users can't edit it) or maybe output it to a text file.