PDA

View Full Version : Problem selecting text from Word

johnsmith
09-27-2012, 07:39 AM
Hi,
I am an Oracle programmer stuck with a Word problem trying to seek some help or explanation in this.
My Knowledge of VBA is next to nothing.

The probelm is that I am trying to select text from a word document and return it to an Oracle Forms using PL\SQL language. I am using built in Oracle Forms functionality which works.

I am trying to returning the text from attached document but it fails at

FUTURE PLAN

{{Patient discharged to GP.||DISPLAY||~<<Discharge patient to GP>>~ =~Yes~}}{{
<<Reason for discharging the patient>>||DISPLAY||~<<Reason for discharging the patient>>~ != ~ ~}}{{
<<Future screening>>||DISPLAY||~<<Future screening>>~ != ~ ~}}{{
Type of Follow up: ||DISPLAY||replace(~<<Type of Follow up>>~,~ ~)is not null}}{{<<Type of Follow up>>||DISPLAY||replace(~<<Type of Follow up>>~,~ ~)is not null}}{{

Interval to next hospital visit: ||DISPLAY||replace(~<<Interval to next hospital visit>>~,~ ~) is not null}}{{<<Interval to next hospital visit>>||DISPLAY||replace(~<<Interval to next hospital visit>>~,~ ~) is not null}}

Reason for prolonged review: <<Reason for prolonged colposcopy review>>

I have used Range and Text as well as Selection,WholeStory,Copy and Text.
Both methods crash after the FUTURE PLAN heading.

The error I get is 5903 The variable name already exists.

If I copy and paste the problematic text into a new document, I don't get any error.
If I delete the problematic text from the document, then the error goes away too.

Please could anyone suggest possible cause of the problem. It can potentially delay an important Go Live.

Thanks

macropod
09-28-2012, 12:33 AM
Without seeing the vba code that's giving problems, diagnosis is a big ask ...

johnsmith
09-28-2012, 06:58 AM
Hi,
I have attached the document which is causing the problem.
The code which is trying to retrieve the text is in PL\SQL.