PDA

View Full Version : Solved: VBA Interaction with IE

emoat
10-04-2012, 10:22 AM
Hi all,
I have used Excel/VBA many times in the past to automate processes, but I've never attempted any kind of web interaction, so this is very new to me (also, I'm not a programmer by trade).
I've done a lot of searching over the past week and made some baby-steps in educating myself about VBA interaction with Internet Explorer, but I think I need some specific help to get me over the next hurdle.

I am using IE 8 and Excel 2007 (VBA 6.5).
All that I really want to do is get the current value of an input box and then send a new value. Following other forum posts and guides this was no problem on a simple website like Google, but I've not been able to get VBA to identify the applicable parts of our ordering web page.
Unfortunately the webpage I'm dealing with (an ordering system) is on our local intranet, so I can't provide a link. However I am attaching a screen cap of the interface as well as a screen cap of the IE Developer Tool breakdown of the relevant part of the html (in zip file to accommodate file size limits). I'd like to get at the input field called "RQH_ACCT_UNIT", both reading the current value and entering a new value.

I've tried modifying code from several other people's examples/forum posts/etc, but seem to be unable to access the interior nested "div"s or any other interior section. My most recent attempt is below (hopefully formatted this correctly - never tried to post code before). This uncovers some of the div tags shown in the attachments but for a reason I don't understand can't see the deeper divs (like "contentArea", "profile", "Accounting", etc.). The goal is the input fields, but I figured those certainly won't work if I can't even see the Divs several indents back from the inputs (see attached image).

Sub NewTest()
Dim objShell As SHDocVw.ShellWindows
Dim oIE As WebBrowser
Dim numDIVtags, i As Integer
Set objShell = New SHDocVw.ShellWindows