PDA

View Full Version : Data transfer based on certain findings

swfred
10-16-2012, 07:12 PM
Hello,

I don't know anything about VBA coding, but I have been using excel for many years. I mostly use it for quantitative analysis and for making sheets for calculations, etc.

I'm currently working on a workbook that has multiple sheets with the same layout.

I want to make it so that I can have a separate worksheet that has a different layout but will respond to my entering the name of other worksheets in the workbook and will search that chosen worksheet for various indicators and copy/paste items that correspond to what the sheet searches for.

I'd like it to work so that I enter the name of the worksheet and it autopopulates that sheet with the information gathered from the sheet that I choose. I'd also like to be able to use that code for multiple sheets so that all the results will be on the same worksheet.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Spreadsheet name: sheet5
If A1(on sheet5)=x, copy B1(on sheet5) and E1(on sheet5)
If B1(on sheet5)<>x, ignore and skip to C1(on sheet5)

etc

Also, I'll want to indiscriminately copy/paste various things from the supplied spreadsheet (in this case sheet5) to certain cells in the new sheet that will be pulled from the supplied sheet the moment I fill in a the cell requesting the name of the sheet.

I can send the actual excel file if needed so that it's easier to visualize what I'm looking for, but I'd rather not post it since it has information I'd rather not be out there for just anyone looking.

Is this possible, and is someone able to help me with it? Dunno if these requests are really what this board is for, or if it's just to get some pointers in the right direction for people stuck on a certain line of code.

I'd love to have the code and for it to be explained so that I can fiddle with it if I want to. It's a bit of a learning experience for me.

Thanks

GTO
10-17-2012, 05:01 AM