PDA

View Full Version : Populate a useform textbox with text from Control Box form

Kranky
10-23-2012, 11:17 PM
Hi guys

Newbie here (learning slowly VBA but new your site :bug: )

I'm having trouble with a form. The basic premise is I open the form which has a text box in it. I want the text box in the form to display the contents of a text box on the worksheet.

The contents then get altered and the new text is written back to the text box on the worksheet. I've tried oodles of code from the web with no joy so far.

The worksheet textbox is called TrainComments and the userform textbox is called TrainCommentsEdit

Any suggestions would be gratefully recieved.

Bob Phillips
10-24-2012, 12:21 AM
If you have the textbox on the worksheet, why not get the user to input into there directly?

Kranky
10-24-2012, 12:46 AM
Hi xld

Thankyou for replying / asking the question

This sheet has users that are a bit overwhelmed by it all, the area where the text boxes are is a dogs breakfast visually. I'm simply trying to make it easier to use for them. I have created forms and macros for most functions in the workbook but this is one that they struggle with so I thought I'd make it easier for them. Didnt make it easier for myself though as this bit of code just eludes me even though it sounds simple enough.

The worksheet is my first real foray into serious excel. I like to see what can be done with excel and vba, I am new and its the learning process as whatever code is produced will be studied and rehashed everywhere I can think it will benefit, just for the practice :) ...

Bob Phillips
10-24-2012, 12:58 AM
Sorry to belabour the point, but I think forms are a dog's breakfast. They are klunky, and take a lot of code. If I were in your shoes, I would re-design the worksheet (even getting rid of textboxes on that), as most users I know far prefer to interact with a well-designed spreadsheet than a userform.

Kranky
10-24-2012, 01:15 AM
Sorry to belabour the point,.