PDA

View Full Version : VBA SUM OF COLORED CELLS?? PLEASE HELP

JustGary
11-06-2012, 04:06 PM
Good evening. I am new to VBA and need help with a quick function. I have a spread sheet that has multiple products and prices. I need a code or function that will allow me to get the sum of cells based on the color they are highlighted. Ie: The user will click multiple cells and highlight them all yellow..the formula/function would total all those quantities in the yellow cells and display the total in a cell at the bottom of the sheet labelled "Total". I really appreciate the help. Im not sure how complicated it is but if you can help me, please do so as if you were talking to someone with no VBA skills...which you are. Thanks

Paul_Hossler
11-06-2012, 07:54 PM
Greetings and welcome

I'd do a User Defined Function (UDF)

A UDF was the very first thing I ever wrote in VBA so I think that they're the easiest to start with

I had thought about a color-based filter, by I think there's too many variables doing it that way.

Maybe someone else here will have some more / better ideas

I used the .ColorIndex property (that's one that you pick from the Fill pallette with the 56 little color boxes) so if you're creative with custom colors it might not work

Option Explicit

Function SumByColor(RangeToSum As Range, CellWithTheColorToMatch As Range) As Variant
Dim dSum As Double
Dim rData As Range, rCell As Range

SumByColor = CVErr(xlErrNA)

Set rData = Nothing
On Error Resume Next
Set rData = Intersect(RangeToSum, RangeToSum.Parent.UsedRange).SpecialCells(xlCellTypeConstants + xlCellTypeFormulas, xlNumbers)
On Error GoTo 0

If rData Is Nothing Then Exit Function

dSum = 0#
For Each rCell In rData.Cells
If rCell.Interior.ColorIndex = CellWithTheColorToMatch.Cells(1, 1).Interior.ColorIndex Then
dSum = dSum + rCell.Value
End If
Next
SumByColor = dSum
End Function

Here's a sample workbook

Free free to ask questions

Paul

Teeroy
11-06-2012, 08:40 PM