PDA

View Full Version : Advanced Filter From Varying Criteria Range

Metserv
11-23-2012, 04:42 AM
Greetings Experts ! I am a VBA novice and kindly seek help with advanced filter.I want to filter a range of values from a sheet named "Data" based on a criteria range from a sheet named "Criteria".For example,

Sheet ("Data") Sheet("Criteria")
A A
Region Region
1. East 1. East
2. South 2. West
3. East
4. Central
5. North

The criteria range should vary, so it should be read up to the last value in the column.I want the list filtered in place.If a value in the "Data" range does not fall within the "Criteria" Range, then that row is hidden, e.t.c

Thank you!

Bob Phillips
11-23-2012, 07:09 AM
Post the workbook.

mantooth29
11-23-2012, 01:11 PM
Try this

Sub DynamicAdvFilter

Dim rData as Range, rCriteria as Range
Set rData = Thisworkbook.Sheets("Data").Range("A1")
Set rCriteria = Thisworkbook.Sheets("Criteria").Range("A1")

rData.CurrentRegion.AdvancedFilter, xlFilterinPlace, rCriteria.CurrentRegion, , False

'currentregion gets everything that is connected to the starting cells ("A1") in 'this case. Please note it will get all columns and rows in your criteria sheet that 'would logically be connected to the starting cell. To test if this will meet your 'needs, I have provided the following lines...

Sheets("Criteria").activate
rCriteria.CurrentRegion.Select

'if the range you want is selected at the end of the sub, then delete the two lines 'above. If not, you may need something a little less dynamic that only uses one 'column

End sub

kattai_engg
06-16-2013, 04:25 AM
Hi,