PDA

View Full Version : Excel and Coreldraw

loppydog
12-07-2012, 11:50 AM
Hi guys, I am new to VBA scripting, and I was hoping to get some help here. this is what I am trying to do: I would like to create a VBA macro within CorelDraw to grab info from an Excel spreadsheet that I have already created. The Excel file is pretty simple with 1 column and 96 rows, but not all 96 cell will always be populated. I was thinking it would go something like this: I already have my Corel template open, when I start the macro it would open the excel file(same location) and check to see if cell A1 has any info. If it does, it would copy the contents from that cell and paste it to a location on my corel template(x=0.500, y=0.100). Then it would check A2, and paste it to a different loacation(x=500, y=0.300) ect, ect. If it detects a cell with no info it will finish the script. Another idea would be to have a user box come up asking how many cells down to check before it closes the script(8 of 96).

I hope that a script like this might be easy for someone here to whip up for me...I would appreciate it a whole lot!!

p45cal
12-09-2012, 03:07 AM
I'd be interested in exploring this with you (I didn't realise that CorelDraw had VBA!)
I used to play with CorelDraw a fair bit a few years ago; I haven't kept up with the various versions (I have X3 on an xp machine). I've just done some Googling for CorelDraw VBA and there isn't a lot, I explored recording a few macros in CorelDraw and had a peep at its object model. While 'whip up' would not be a good description of how I could help you, we could probably muddle through.

A description of what you're trying to achieve (what information is in the cells of the spreadsheet, what would you paste into your Corel template etc. etc.)

Can you point me to some resources on the internet too?

Finally, since you're coding in CorelDraw and not Excel, perhaps there is a better place to discuss this?

loppydog
12-10-2012, 08:16 AM