PDA

View Full Version : Outlook: Save Excel attachment and change file extension

PDizzle
12-12-2012, 06:51 AM
Hi all,
I have no prior experience in VBA and just google searched solutions to my problem.
I was able to make the "Save Excel attachment"-part work with the code below. Now, since the attachment is a .xls file and gives me a corrupted file message when opening (other worksheets pull data from this saved file), I would like to save it automatically as a .xlsx file. I tried to find a solution but the things I have tried would not work. Hope to find some help here.
Thanks in advance!

Public Sub saveAttachtoDisk(itm As Outlook.MailItem)
Dim objAtt As Outlook.Attachment
Dim saveFolder As String
Dim dateFormat
dateFormat = Format(itm.ReceivedTime - 1, "yyyymmdd_")
saveFolder = "THIS IS MY FOLDER"
For Each objAtt In itm.Attachments
objAtt.SaveAsFile saveFolder & "\" & dateFormat & objAtt.DisplayName
Set objAtt = Nothing
Next
End Sub

KilianD
02-19-2013, 03:52 AM
Hi,
I donīt think you can do that. Possible solution would be to save the attachment, call excel macro to open it, save as *.xlsx and delete the original file.
Regards

skatonni
02-19-2013, 06:39 PM
See how this works out

Sub Save_Attachments_xlsx(itm As Outlook.MailItem)
Dim objAtt As Outlook.attachment
Dim attchmtName As String
Dim objSelection As Outlook.Selection
Dim objOL As Outlook.Application
Dim xl As Excel.Application
Dim xlwkbk As Excel.Workbook
Set objOL = CreateObject("Outlook.Application")
Set objSelection = objOL.ActiveExplorer.Selection
Dim saveFolder As String
Dim dateFormat
saveFolder = "C:\Test\"
Debug.Print itm.Subject
attchmtName = saveFolder & dateFormat & objAtt.FileName
Select Case Right(objAtt, Len(objAtt) - InStrRev(objAtt, "."))
Case "xls"
objAtt.SaveAsFile attchmtName
' open the attachment
If xl Is Nothing Then
Set xl = CreateObject("Excel.Application")
End If
Set xlwkbk = xl.Workbooks.Open(attchmtName)
' FileFormat:=51 is the key