PDA

View Full Version : Match and copy, unique condition

anep67
02-01-2013, 07:04 AM
Hello to all gurus here..

I am quite new to macros and vba and cracking my head to solve this problem but I don't know whether it is possible.

The code suppose to get the first number and match to the rest of the numbers according to the conditions stated below and copy the matching numbers in column B.

Example:

Column A Column B
1234 1234
2456 4312
4312 1234
5826 1294
1294 1234
4326 4326

The above is exactly what I wanted. It means the code get the first number from Column A and find matching numbers in column A and then copy both in Column B. Then it goes to second number in Column A and do the same again until the end. However the matching condition is as follows:

a) the exact number ie 1234
b) all the permutation ie 1432, 1324, 2314 etc..
c) 123?, 12?4, 1?34, ?234 (ie 1254, 9234, 1238 etc)
d) backward - 432?, 43?1, 4?21, ?321 (ie 4329, 8321, 4921 etc)

Thank you..

p45cal
02-01-2013, 05:40 PM
It would be nice to see what coding you've already done, since this forum is really to help people with their vba rather than a free code-writing service. That said, below are a set of functions and 2 subs.
The two subs (blah and blah2) are variations on a theme, blah comparing every cell in column A with every cell in column A making an exception for the same cell. Blah2 works down each cell in column A, but only makes comparisons with all the cells below that cell. I haven't bothered checking if blah gives more than just a duplicate of the results of blah2 - I leave it to you to check for yourself.

I haven't done anything to cater for leading zeroes. Again, for you to check if it works.

To try this, run either blah or blah2, all the other functions should be present in the same workbook in a standard module. To test this, all the code can go into a single standard code-module.