PDA

View Full Version : Function, compile error.

stramvaier
02-11-2013, 03:30 AM
Hi.
i get this error when i try to run this function. Compile error: procedure too large.

Im probably over the 64k limit(?), but i need to run this code. It inserts components into a list based on selections from a userform. the code in the attachment is only 1/20 of the total code but it is this spesific function that chrashes.

I need some help on how to make it run. if i can split it some how, or can i use some procedure inside the function to make it run?

i tried to split it at case 19 with a new function, but then it would not work past case 19.

im new to VBA and im lost.:help

Jan Karel Pieterse
02-11-2013, 03:49 AM
That seems like something that really screams for a re-design.

In my humble opinion, you have too much hard-coded data in your code.

I think it would be better to move out all the hard-coded data to e.g. tables on worksheets and then use logic to decide what piece of data you need to copy from those tables, based on the choices made on the form.

It will make your code a lot more compact and at the same time makes maintaining the information a lot easier.

stramvaier
02-11-2013, 04:31 AM
i appresiate the input but i need to run this code. it is to big of a job for me to rewrite with my limited experience. if there is no other option i must hire a pro, but if it is possible to do something(fairly easy) to it that will let it run,i would rather do that.

Bob Phillips
02-11-2013, 05:30 AM
We can offer you advice and direction on how to reduce it, but it is too big a job to expect us to recut the function for you, it would take a long time.

You say function, you don't hope to call this from a worksheet as a UDF do you?

stramvaier
02-11-2013, 08:10 AM