PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Find and Replace in Headers

pimpzter
02-25-2013, 08:04 AM
I have a bunch of word docs to make corrections to. One of the things I need to do with each document is change the headers. Every page has a header that states "Revision ###" and I need to find and replace that with "Revision ###+1"

For example. Page 1 header states "Revision 301" I need to find and replace every "Revision 301" with "Revision 302"

thanks in advance
:banghead:

fumei
02-25-2013, 12:35 PM
What have you tried so far.

pimpzter
02-25-2013, 12:41 PM
I havent found this particular question anywhere so I searched similar questions and copy/pasted bits and pieces or different codes but nothing that has come even close to working. As I tried other things I found I just overwrote what didnt work previously so Im not sure to tell you what all I have tried so far. As you can tell im pretty new to this. If I was not detailed enough in what Im trying to accomplish please let me know.

fumei
02-25-2013, 03:58 PM
You have actually tried some code...well then, try posting that.

It actually is a fairly common thing to do. Break it down into two major chunks.

1. Doing it once.
2. Doing it with a bunch of files. This is easy; use the DIR function.

Sub ChangeHeader()
Dim WhatIsLeft As String
WhatIsLeft = ActiveDocument.Sections(1).Headers(wdHeaderFooterPrimary).Range.Text
WhatIsLeft = Mid(WhatIsLeft, 9)
ActiveDocument.Sections(1).Headers(wdHeaderFooterPrimary).Range.Text = _
"Revision " & WhatIsLeft + 1
End SubGets the number - what is left after "Revision " - adds 1 to it; replaces the header text.

Revision 301 becomes Revision 302.

You do NOT state:

1. are you only using Primary header - no DifferentFirstpage or OddEven
2. whether there is any other text.

The code above assumes yes to #1, no to #2.