PDA

View Full Version : Sleeper: Allow autofilter on protected worksheet

malik641
08-09-2005, 06:50 AM
What is the correct code in VBA to allow sorting for excel 2000??? I recorded a macro and tried to use the code found in there, but it is not working for me (maybe it is because I have the code in an workbook_open event).

Any ideas? Here is my code, I only want to set the "Bio-Analytical" worksheet to have the sort option:

Private Sub Workbook_Open()
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
With Worksheets("Bio-Analytical")
If Not .AutoFilterMode Then
.Range("A1").AutoFilter
End If
.EnableAutoFilter = True
.Protect Password:="", _
contents:=True, userinterfaceonly:=True
End With
With Worksheets("Freezer Diagrams")
End With
With Worksheets("ReadMe")
End With
ActiveWorkbook.Protect "", Structure:=True
End Sub

Sir Babydum GBE
08-09-2005, 02:42 PM
Joseph,

I'm not a coder, but if you do not get another more suitable answer, can you not create a control that will do your sorting? The user clicks the button(s) and the code unprotects, sorts, and re-protects.

Jacob Hilderbrand
08-09-2005, 02:49 PM
So you want to allow auto filter on a protected sheet, is that correct? This is an option for Excel 2002 and up, but not for 2000 if memory serves.

MWE
08-09-2005, 04:45 PM
What is the correct code in VBA to allow sorting for excel 2000??? I recorded a macro and tried to use the code found in there, but it is not working for me (maybe it is because I have the code in an workbook_open event).

Any ideas? Here is my code, I only want to set the "Bio-Analytical" worksheet to have the sort option:

If Not .AutoFilterMode Then
.Range("A1").AutoFilter
End If
.EnableAutoFilter = True
End With
End With
With Worksheets("ReadMe")
End With
End Sub

I believe that you are trying to do the following:

when the spreasheet opens test to see if the sheet "Bio-Analytical" has autofilter on; if not set autofilter for col A on.
set protection for "Bio-Analytical" with a null password