PDA

View Full Version : Macro to plot in AutoCad Lite 2004

mdmackillop
08-10-2005, 09:25 AM
I'm trying to assist a colleague with an AutoCad project, but I know nothing about coding for this application, or even if it can be done with this version.

I have a number of tables of degrees and distances from a pipeline survey and I would hope that with a simple macro, I could get AutoCad to import the data and draw these lines. Ideally, I would like to place a cross or other marker at the end of each line, but this is not critical. The data is in Excel, but can be exported to a text file etc. if this is simpler to handle.

Regards
MD

Tommy
08-10-2005, 10:28 AM
Hi MD, :hi:

This cannot be done in AutoCad Lite. I could write a script to run, draw lines setup dwg etc, write dxf, however you want. The main problem is AutoCad Lite will not take Autolisp, VBA, ARX or anything else. Anyway this can be done, just not the obvious way.

Unless you specify differently the degrees is the direction of travel and the dist is the length of travel. THe start point will be 0,0 unless specified otherwise, a cross with a circle will be inserted at each intersection(point).

lucas
08-10-2005, 10:34 AM
Question Malcolm,
Does each row represent a line that is attached to the line represented by the row above it?

Hope you can understand what I'm getting at. I don't think they would all start at the same point of origin?

Also is measurement in meters, miles, etc. or does the unit matter?

I think Tommy and I were posting here at the same time....

lucas
08-10-2005, 10:36 AM
Hey Tommy,

Glad you showed up.:hi:

Tommy
08-10-2005, 11:54 AM
MD, If you don't mind will you check this out and see if this is what is required? It works in Acad. You will need to open acad lite and and run the script in "C:\acad" called "PlotCords.scr"

Let me know :)

mdmackillop
08-10-2005, 03:16 PM
Hi Steve,