PDA

View Full Version : Autosave with filename and datetime stamp

tonyl
04-22-2013, 09:15 PM
Hello all, I am extremely new to VBA and hope you will bear with me.

What I am trying to do is Autosave a word form with a filename generated from a formfield and append the date time to the filename.

This is the code I have at the moment which works fine but I cannot for the life of me work out how to append the date

Private Sub Document_Close()
Dim FileName As String

ActiveDocument.SaveAs FileName:="C:\forms\orders\" & _
ActiveDocument.FormFields("text1").Result & ".doc"
End Sub

It is probably really simple, but I can't work it out. Any help will be greatly appreciated

Thank you in advance

Tony

fumei
04-23-2013, 03:15 PM
It is fairly simple. What we need is an exact example of how you want it. You state "date time". Does that mean something like (let's assume the result of Text1 is "yadda"):

C:\forms\orders\yaddaApril24201313:14:37

yadda & April 24 2013 13h14m37s

tonyl
04-23-2013, 06:00 PM
It is fairly simple. What we need is an exact example of how you want it. You state "date time". Does that mean something like (let's assume the result of Text1 is "yadda"):

C:\forms\orders\yaddaApril24201313:14:37

yadda & April 24 2013 13h14m37s

Thank you for the timely reply, apologies for not being more specific, would like to have it as C:\forms\orders\yadda_1437240413 which is a military time/date stamp but would settle for C:\forms\orders\yadda-14:37-24-04-13, the main reason being if I have more than one to the same company on the same day. The date is in "text15" formfield and the extension is .doc using office XP

Thank you

Tony

fumei
04-23-2013, 08:05 PM
Oh, the date is from the textbox. Not system- time? Significant piece of information to know. That's OK. Just as a heads up though, the more and explicit information you give, the better and explicit infomation you get back.

Try
Dim SaveName As String

SaveName = "C:\forms\orders\" & _