PDA

View Full Version : Lock specific columns

pontuskrusin
05-20-2013, 05:07 AM
Hi,
I want to lock column A:B in sheet "PartsData".
But I still want them to be unlocked for my macro, just locked for users.

I've tried this:

Private Sub Workbook_Open()
With ActiveSheet
.Unprotect Password:="TEST"
.Range("A:B").Locked = True
.Protect Password:="TEST"
End With
End Sub

I'm not good with VBA, thus my post in this forum.

Would be really thankful if anyone had an idea that could help.

Thanks!

//The amateur

p45cal
05-20-2013, 06:17 AM
you only need one line in the open event:ActiveSheet.Protect Password:="TEST", userinterfaceonly:=True
although it would be more robust if you named the sheet rather than hope the active sheet is the one you want to protect.
(I've not locked those columns because all cells are locked by default.)

pontuskrusin
05-20-2013, 06:26 AM
you only need one line in the open event:ActiveSheet.Protect Password:="TEST", userinterfaceonly:=True
although it would be more robust if you named the sheet rather than hope the active sheet is the one you want to protect.
(I've not locked those columns because all cells are locked by default.)

Alright,

So how would the code look in reality?
Here's a copy of my excel file.
http: / / ge. tt/ 2n7UI9h/v/0

Thank you for the answer!

p45cal
05-20-2013, 06:47 AM
Sheets("PartsData").Protect Password:="TEST", userinterfaceonly:=True
Call Tempo
End Sub
You only need to use userinterfaceonly once, say when the workbook is opened; it stays like that unless changed with another .Protect line or until the workbook is closed.

Paul_Hossler
05-20-2013, 05:03 PM
Don't forget to password protect the VBA project or anyone would be able to bypass the worksheet protection

Paul

pontuskrusin
05-22-2013, 01:03 AM
Sheets("PartsData").Protect Password:="TEST", userinterfaceonly:=True
Call Tempo
End Sub