PDA

View Full Version : Solved: vlookup

maninjapan
05-21-2013, 06:12 AM
Hi, I am trying to use Vlookup to populate a column with data based on date and time, however the problem I have is they are 2 seperate columns, one with date, the second with time. I have used Vlookup with single columns without issue previously however this is my first attempt at a vlookup using 2 columns.....

I have tried making a 3rd helper column to combine the date and time but it doesnt seem to be recognizing the data to be looked up. Does anyone know of a thread that already covers this, or is able to explain what I am doing wrong? I have attached an example of the data I am trying to use.

There are 2 sheets of price data, 10 minute and 1 minute. I am trying to populate colum G of the 1 minute data (which has been rounded down to the closest 10 minute period) with the close of the 10 minute price for that time period.

Thanks in advance

SamT
05-21-2013, 09:04 AM
The Helper column Formulas should both be
=ROUND(B2+C2,3)
And get rid of the Rounding column.

If you format all the Date and Time columns to "Number" with 5 decimal places, you'll see what is happening.

maninjapan
05-21-2013, 10:04 AM
SamT, thanks for the reply. I see what you mean by formating the dates and times as numbers. I tried what you said though. I added that above formula in column A for both sheets, then added the following to column G on 1 minute Sheet, but not receiving any data. I dont suppose you are able to put up a working example?

=VLOOKUP(A2,'10 minute'!A:E,5)

Thanks

SamT
05-21-2013, 07:34 PM
I am trying to populate colum G of the 1 minute data
Bad Dog! No biscuits for you.

First I had to sort the tables Ascending. I also got rid of the columns that I thought you didn't need. Then I Formatted the Columns To Date, Time, and Accounting, (To align the currency signs,) as I thought you might want.

The Final formulas were