PDA

View Full Version : Working with images in footer using VBA

arisley28
05-30-2013, 08:58 AM
After programming with VBA in Excel for the last 10+ years, and now trying to translate my skills to Word, I can say I have a newfound respect for anyone who can use VBA with Word. So far, anything I have tried to do has been like herding cats.

With that bit out of the way, here is the problem I am facing: I have taken on a new project where I have to work out the kinks of a system-generated report built in Word. Not sure which version it was built for initially, but the current version we use is 2007, which may or may not be part of the problem. I will admit I am a novice with Word, and my Excel VBA skills have helped me very little here so far. (Trying to record a macro in Word is so much harder it is making my head spin.)

There are two main tasks that I am charged with. The immediate task is to build a macro to find and fix footers with image size and/or placement issues. Issues can range from the appearance of the image to its position relative to another image - both in terms of white space and overlapping -to images covering text. This doesn't happen every time, but when it does, it takes our sales staff hours to fix the footers themselve, or the admins/support staff/anyone else but them to whom they delegate the task. I realize that there are a laundry list of issues that I may have to be able to address, but I will start with two simple (I hope) tasks to ask for help with:

1.) How can I determine the position (both absolute position in the footer and relative to another) of 2-3 images in footers?

2.) How can I resize images in the footer if they overlap?