PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Is it possible for a function to affect another cell?

Sock
05-31-2013, 05:59 PM
Hey everyone, I just registered here. I'm really new to VBA (I only know very simple things... I have had a hard time finding guides to learning this).

I'm just wondering if I can create a function that can affect other cells. For example...

Background: Someone has a big model they've created with multiple inputs and they want to build a big scenario table on these inputs. Using Data Tables will only let them evaluate (at most) two variables. They feel their only option is to change the variables manually and record the final output on its own.

I can think of a way to do this without creating a function, but I think it would be pretty elegant for the user to just run the operation with a function.

The only way I can think of a function being able to accomplish this, however, is for it to be the one to change the input values and record the output value?

I hope this question makes sense. I will try to whip up an example spreadsheet if you guys want to see what I would be trying to accomplish.

Thanks so much and I look forward to being a part of this community! :)

Simon Lloyd
05-31-2013, 08:34 PM
Welcome to the forums :), have you tried using pivottables?

Sock
05-31-2013, 10:28 PM
My only problem with using pivot tables is I only have a singular output value, but with multiple input values. The output is a sum of values that are dependent on the inputs. I know of using Scenario Manager, however I've found this can be destructive (especially if in the wrong hands) and can be tedious to build it out. Do you know of another way? With all that said...

Waaiiiit wait wait wait wait.

A function isn't what I want at all! Hahaha!