PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Creating Tables when key words are found

lawtai
08-15-2005, 02:15 PM
I'm new to the whole macro scene and was wondering if anyone could offer some help. I was wondering if this is at all possible, and if so, if someone could point me in the right direction to get started on creating this macro.

I would like to be able to take an already created word document which is as follows:

Title

1. Text goes here. Record (Short Description A)
2. Normal Text
3. More text here. Record (Short Description B)

I want to be able to have the macro locate the places where I use "Record" and take those lines and add them to a table in a new Word doc, to create a sort of checklist. I'd want to populate the table with the line #, the (short description) and then also have 3 extra blank cells for pass/fail/comments respectively.

The resulting table would look something like this:

Title

Step # | Description | Pass | Fail | Comment
-------------------------------------------
1 | Short Description A | | |
--------------------------------------------
3 | Short Description B | | |

My original document would include several pages of these lists, with the list sometimes running a few pages and each new list having a title.

Is something like this possible? How can I get started on it? Thanks for any help that you can offer!

lawtai
08-16-2005, 06:56 AM
anyone?

fumei
08-16-2005, 07:14 AM
This is very possible, and not all that difficult. It would take proper design elements. It would take a proper, full, step by step analysis and precisely what you want to happen.

For example....you mention line number. What exactly do you mean by that? And why, exactly, is this significant? Do you really need it? Line numbers are slippery things.