PDA

View Full Version : access database tables in Excel

MartinBoers
06-13-2013, 07:58 PM
I'm using Excel 2010, which I have quite a bit of experience with, although I haven't used macros yet.

I'm also using SQL Server 2008 Express with Advanced Services. I'm still a newbie with SQL, and so far I've worked with databases only via SQL Server Management Studio.

Could someone please tell me if my understanding is correct with respect to the following points?

• Macros in Excel are written only in VBA.

• Excel macros can be created via Excel's macro recorder. For simple functionality, the macro recorder can generate VBA code for the user, while for more sophisticated functionality, macro code must be written by the user.

• Because the macro recorder is incorporated into Excel, there is no need to install Visual Basic separately.

• Excel macros can make SQL queries or commands to databases.

• Excel's PowerPivot add-in has SQL capabilities, but does not employ Excel macros.

• In Excel, the choice of whether to use macros or PowerPivot to make SQL queries or commands would most likely depend on the situation.

• By default, VBA code is interpreted at run time, but can be compiled if desired.

• Excel can use inline functions (as opposed to macros) to run code written in C# (and possibly other programming languages).

Thanks for any information anyone can provide.

Incidentally, I'm running Windows XP Professional.

patel
06-14-2013, 12:33 AM
• Macros in Excel are written only in VBA. - YES

• Excel macros can be created via Excel's macro recorder. For simple functionality, the macro recorder can generate VBA code for the user, while for more sophisticated functionality, macro code must be written by the user. - YES

• Because the macro recorder is incorporated into Excel, there is no need to install Visual Basic separately. - YES

• Excel macros can make SQL queries or commands to databases. - YES