PDA

View Full Version : Find Page numbers on one sheet (footer) and paste on cells in a different sheet

sn79
06-21-2013, 09:25 AM
Hello,
Please see the attached picture. I have a Sheet7 where I have page numbers in the footer (picture not attached). Now the numbers under column A (1.01, 1.02...) in sheet TableofContents (PGnumber.jpg attachment) are also in Sheet7 under column A. So I'm trying to get a macro running which would look up for values under column A in TableofContents sheet against Sheet7, and register the correct page number (from Sheet7) which belongs to the number (1.01, 1.02..) under column G or H in sheet TableofContents sheet. I tried mixing up a bunch of codes I found, but I am not very good at that. Please see below. Is there any way this can be used with minor modification?

Sub AssignPageNumber()

Dim B As Integer, C As Integer
Dim Rang As Range, RT As Integer
RT = 2
On Error GoTo Quit

While RT < 5
For Each Rang In Range("A1:A200").SpecialCells(xlCellTypeFormulas, 1)
For B = 1 To .HPageBreaks.Count
Sheets("Sheet7").HPageBreaks(B).Location = Sheets("TableofContents").Cells(3, 7).Value
Sheets("Sheet7").VPageBreaks(C).Location = Sheets("TableofContents").Cells(3, 8).Value
Next Rang
Next B
Next C
Wend

Quit:
End Sub

Please help! This is driving me crazy :banghead:

SamT
06-21-2013, 12:34 PM
Sub InsertPageBreaksBeforeMatchingValues()
Dim Cel As Range, Found As Range, X As PageBreak, Cnt As Long 'Cnt stands for "Count"

With Sheets("Sheet7")
'Remove all existing H page breaks
For Each X In .HPageBreaks
X.Remove
Next X

For Each Cel In Sheets("TableOfContents").Range("A1:A" & Range("A1").End(xlDown).Row)
'How it works: "& Range("A1").End(xlDown).Row" returns the last row number in "A" that
'is not empty, then appends the Row number to the partial address ""A1:A".

Found = .Range("A:A").Find(Cel.Value)
'How it works: Find return a range only if the value is found. The Dot before the