PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Userform to interface Excel

SailFL
08-17-2005, 09:59 AM
Maybe the title is not the best but here is what I want to do.

I have a workbook that has 4 sheets in it. The first sheet is used to enter data for the installation of concrete pavers. It captures all the necessary data related to the job such as name, project, areas to be paved. It caculates the materials needed and the cost of the materials. The remaining sheets are used to do the job or submit the proposal to the client.

What I am doing is creating a userform that will be the interface to the users using the Excel workbook so they will have a form to place the data in the first sheet of the workbook. Than I will place buttons on the userform to allow the workbook to be saved or printed off. We do not want the users to know that the underlying workbook exist.

I am new to userforms and VBA but not programming. Everything that I have seen so far or read has the userform as part of the workbook. What I would like to do is have the ability to start the userform.

How do I do this? Do I use VBA?

Thanks

Tommy
08-17-2005, 10:48 AM
Hi SailFL,

In the ThisWorkBook code window place

Private Sub Workbook_Open()
Application.Visible = False 'hides excel from being seen
UserForm1.Show 'shows the userform
End Sub

in the userform

Private Sub CommandButton1_Click()
Application.Visible = True 'makes excel visible there will need to be some code to save the worksheets etc
Unload Me 'getrid of the userform
End Sub

HTH

mdmackillop
08-17-2005, 12:24 PM
Hi Nils,
You can also do this with a standalone VB programme such as VB6. This typically uses a userform interface to Excel, Word or Access. I've played about with this a little, but to a beginner level only. I got myself a copy of the "Deluxe Learning Edition" which comes with Step by Step book and a Programmers Guide.
VB6 allows you to open the Userform as an .exe file, so that the background Excel data files etc are not apparent.