PDA

View Full Version : Excel - Checkbox Alternative using Marlett across multiple sheets

wyrdred
07-25-2013, 04:02 PM
First, I apologize for the length of this post. But, I wasn’t sure how to simplify.
Background – I am an Analyst and was tasked with creating a tracking document onto which multiple users will enter data. The file is to include summary pages for the data. I did my best not having any VBA knowledge and basically being able to muck my way through Excel 2003 and Excel 2007 (when project was started used both versions). Users and managers have identified through initial use some desired changes, including simplifying data entry tracking the data for the entire fiscal year instead of monthly. I am hoping that if I can grasp the concepts that I currently have questions on that I can work out the rest.
At first I tried to apply individual checkboxes to the 2500 x umpteen columns and realized I was going to crash my computer when it took 10 minutes just to paste all 2500 to just one column. Further, exploration for alternatives led me to the kb article submitted by lenze for Checkbox Alternative (I can't include the link as my post count isn't high enough)

The VBA code from the kb article is as follows:

Option Explicit
Private Sub Worksheet_BeforeDoubleClick(ByVal Target As Range, Cancel As Boolean)
'Limit Target count to 1
If Target.Count > 1 Then
Exit Sub
'Isolate Target to a specific range
If Intersect(Target, Range("myChecks")) Is Nothing Then
Exit Sub
'set Target font tp "marlett"
Target.Font.Name = "marlett"
'Check value of target
If Target.Value <> "a" Then
Target.Value = "a" 'Sets target Value = "a"
Cancel = True
Exit Sub
End If
If Target.Value = "a" Then
Target.ClearContents 'Sets Target Value = ""
Cancel = True
Exit Sub
End If
End Sub

'Code for Worksheet "Mutually Exclusive examples"
Option Explicit
Private Sub Worksheet_BeforeDoubleClick(ByVal Target As Range, Cancel As Boolean)
'Limit Target count to 1
If Target.Count > 1 Then
Exit Sub