PDA

View Full Version : Listing folder names in a column

nightzirk
08-28-2013, 07:05 AM
Hello everyone, I am very new to VBA! I work in tech-support at a local company, and today I've gotten an assignment that feels like it would take ages to do manually. Basically, I am to list a bunch of folders (1,001 to be exact) along with their size in megabytes and a boolean variable indicating whether or not the folder has a relevant user in AD. The last part probably has to be done manually, but I feel like there is probably some very simple script to automate the first two requirements. The format should be like this: Column A (Name) lists the name of each folder (they are all in the same directory) and column B lists the size in MB of that folder. The only programming I know is in C++, so any help to get this to work would be greatly appreciated.

Kenneth Hobs
08-28-2013, 07:31 AM
Welcome to the forum!

In the Visual Basic Editor (VBE, Alt+F11):
In the commented link, Import that Module or copy and paste the code. These are needed for the speedon and speedoff routines to work.
Add the reference as commented.
Obviously, change "x:\" to your path.
Insert the speed module or another, this code.

Sub ListFoldersAndInfo()
' Tools > References > Microsoft Scripting Runtime > OK
Dim fso As FileSystemObject, fldr As Folder
Dim fPath As String, r As Range

fPath = "x:\"

On Error GoTo TheEnd
' http://vbaexpress.com/kb/getarticle.php?kb_id=1035
SpeedOn

Set fso = New FileSystemObject
Set r = Range("A2")
For Each fldr In fso.GetFolder(fPath).SubFolders
r.Value2 = fldr.Name
' 1 Byte = 8 Bit
' 1 Kilobyte = 1,024 Bytes
' 1 Megabyte = 1,048,576 Bytes
' 1 Gigabyte = 1,073,741,824 Bytes
' 1 Terabyte = 1,099,511,627,776 Bytes
r.Offset(0, 1).Value2 = Round(fldr.Size / 1048576, 0)
Set r = r.Offset(1)
Next fldr

TheEnd:
SpeedOff
End Sub

nightzirk
08-28-2013, 08:01 AM