PDA

View Full Version : Hyperlinks copy-paste in Word Macros

okvia
09-12-2013, 09:50 AM
Hello,

I'm trying to find a way for a macro to copy hyperlinks from one name to another in a Word document. What I have is a list of names:

Name1
LongName1
Name2
LongLongName2

Only short names have hyperlinks and I need to copy these hyperlinks and add them to long names. So Name1 hyperlink needs to be added to LongName1, Name2 hyperlink needs to be added to LongLongName2 etc.

I'm new to Word VBA, so I tried to record a macro that will do this. Unfortunately, it copies the exact name of one hyperlink and keeps pasting it. How do I make it to copy the hyperlink of a word I want (of Name1), add it to words below (LongName1), and then copy a new link (of Name2) and so on? Would "Text ToDisplay" also cause it posting the same text?

'
Selection.Range.Hyperlinks(1).Range.Fields(1).Result.Select
Selection.Range.Hyperlinks(1).Delete
ActiveDocument.Hyperlinks.Add Anchor:=Selection.Range, Address:= _
"Name1Hyperlink" _
, SubAddress:="", ScreenTip:="Name1", TextToDisplay:="", Target:= _
"_blank"
Selection.Collapse Direction:=wdCollapseEnd

Selection.MoveDown Unit:=wdLine, Count:=1

Selection.MoveRight Unit:=wdWord, Count:=3, Extend:=wdExtend

ActiveDocument.Hyperlinks.Add Anchor:=Selection.Range, Address:= _
"Name1Hyperlink" _
, SubAddress:="", ScreenTip:="", TextToDisplay:= _
"LongName1"

Also, is there a way for a macro to recognize the end of a line when highlighing the text?
Right now, it will only count the exact number of words in the name that I indicate (3). But the number of words in Long Names vary and I need all words of a particular name to be highlighted to add a hyperlink. This is the line:

Thank you!

mrojas
09-12-2013, 01:53 PM
You may need to create a couple of variables (Dim strLinkShort strLinkLong) and store in strLinkShort the value in Name1 and LongName into strLinkLong, then concatenate variables and shove this into new word.