PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Loop Only Works on Active Sheet

ramohse
09-19-2013, 10:46 AM
Hello all,

I am trying to write a simple loop that will replace values in a range on a specific number of sheets, however the loop only works on the active sheet (i.e. I have Excel open to a sheet, I hit F5 in the editor, and it only works on that sheet). I have tried several methods of naming the sheets I want (index, Select Case) and this is the current method I am trying, however the problem persists in all scenarios.

Sub LoopTest()
Dim ws As Worksheet
For Each ws In Application.Worksheets

If ws.Name Like "*5yr*" Then
[C11:N37].Replace What:="X", Replacement:="Y"
Else:
If ws.Name Like "*8Qtr*" Then [C11:N37].Replace What:="X", Replacement:="Y"
End If

Next ws
End Sub

I am not sure what is breaking the loop. I have searched the internet and do not see how the syntax here is different than a normal For Each Loop. I am new at this, so am probably missing something blatantly obvious.

I have about 45 5yr and 8Qtr tabs I need to change. I have also tried doing this individually (i.e. separate loop for each tab type), also to no avail.

Thank you very much for your time and assistance.

SamT
09-19-2013, 12:20 PM
Top o' my head code:

Sub SamT()
Dim Cel As Range
Dim strReplaceWhat As String
Dim strWithWhat As String
Dim Ws Aa Worksheet

For Each ws in Worksheets
Select Case LCase(Right(Ws.Name, 3)
Case "5yr"
strReplaceWhat = "" 'Modify as needed for Year sheets
strWithWhat = ""
Case "8qt"
strReplaceWhat = "" 'Modify as needed for Qtr Sheets
strWithWhat = ""
Case Else
GoTo WSNEXT
End Select
For Each Cel in Ws.Range("C11:N37") Replace strReplaceWhat, strWithWhat
Next Cel
WSNEXT:
Next Ws
End Sub

ramohse
09-20-2013, 05:43 AM
Thanks a ton!

Though it tells me it expects an "End of Statement" at the point of "("C11:N37") Replace" I've tried adding a period, Application.Replace, putting it on the line below, but none of that seemed to work...

SamT
09-20-2013, 06:54 AM