PDA

View Full Version : Help with adding collection to class

EirikDaude
09-23-2013, 05:23 PM
Hi! While not a total newbie to to VBA, I haven't really had any formal training in it, and what I have been doing up to now has been fairly simple, so please forgive me if my question is a bit stupid/has a really easy solution.

I have three worksheets, each for a different department, in which the stop-times of various equipment/machines are listed:

in column A, the date of the incident is listed.
in column B, the name of the equipment is entered
in column C, is the main reason the machine stopped
in column D, you can find the secondary reason it stopped
in column E, you can find the duration of the stop.

Now what I'm trying to do is to loop through column A collecting informtion from the other columns between two given dates.

Then I get the name of the piece of equipment causing the stop and enter it into a collection of "equipment"-classes, each containing the name of the piece of equipment and the amount of stop-time it's caused. Obviously I don't need multiple entries for the individual pieces of equipment, so if it's already in the collection I rather add the extra time to the previous entry. To make this easier I also use the names of the equipment as keys to the collection.

So far, so good. Now, what I am having some trouble achieving is the next step of the procedure. I want each "equipment-class" to contain a collection of main causes for stops, new ones getting added to the collection as it finds them in the spreadsheet. Each cause of stop will also have the amount of minutes it's added to the downtime of the machine as a property. If it already exists, add to previous as above.