PDA

View Full Version : Sleeper: Threading in VBA

venkyhyd
08-21-2005, 11:10 PM
I am a NewBie to VBA with Excel, can guide me in implementing Multithreading in VBA, I guess VBA with Excel will support Multithreading any samples wld be of great help.

thanks in advance
venky

johnske
08-23-2005, 02:20 AM
Hi venky,

I've taken the liberty of moving your post to the excel Help forum, where you may possibly have more chance of getting a response to your question

Regards,
John :)

Bob Phillips
08-23-2005, 03:00 AM
VBA doesn't support multi-threading.

venkyhyd
08-23-2005, 03:07 AM
Hi venky,

I've taken the liberty of moving your post to the excel Help forum, where you may possibly have more chance of getting a response to your question

Regards,
John :)

hi Jhon,

Thanx, hope to get some help thr...anyhow i did solved it using the timer method, hope to get more other than Timers...

venky

venkyhyd
08-23-2005, 03:09 AM

Thnx i did tried solving the requirement with Timers but hope to get some other techniques than timers

venky

TonyJollans
08-23-2005, 03:42 AM

Can you point me to somewhere that documents this please? I have never done it but I don't see why the CreateThread API call cannot be used.

The Timer, in effect, creates a separate thread. So what is it about multithreading that VBA doesn't support?

Ivan F Moala
08-27-2005, 01:23 AM
Tony, VBA/VB supports objects in both single threaded and apartment models.

In my endeavours to try new or perhaps impossible things within VBA I some times neglect
the fact that"just because you can, then you should" .... sometimes you need to take stock
of what it is you are doing it for.
The API call CreateThread is one such API call that you really need to be aware of what you are doing!
Just because you can do it, doesn't in this case mean you should. ( I have been guilty of this:) )
Don't forget that @ the CPU register level (low level machine language) it is the CPU that handles