PDA

View Full Version : Appending files

Bunta
10-16-2013, 08:52 AM
Hi all,I'm struggling to trim a line of output when appended it to another file. The code combines the files and does not output the first line of the line files to be appended but for the second line I only wish for the first seven characters to be included followed by the last character or a ">".Is there a way to do this? I'm not an expert but if someone can nudge me in the right direction I'm happy to experiment and reserch it.Thanks very much
Sub combine()
' Find all the text files in folder to be processed
myfolder = "ABC"
myfile = Dir(myfolder & "*.txt")
If Len(myfile) = 0 Then Exit Sub ' no txt files found
Open myfolder & "newfile.txt" For Append As 2
Do While Len(myfile) > 0
Open myfolder & myfile For Input As 1
filestr = Input(LOF(1), #1)
Close 1
'remove first line
filestr = Mid(filestr, InStr(filestr, vbNewLine) + 2)
Print #2, filestr
myfile = Dir
Loop
Close 2
End Sub

Bunta
10-16-2013, 08:55 AM
Um, apologies, I don't know why it lost all the nice formatting it had in preview...

Kenneth Hobs
10-16-2013, 12:27 PM
Code tags are standard vbbulletin forum software features.

Type code tags and paste your code between them or in the enhanced editor, click the # key to insert code tags. In this example, replace () with [].

(code)MsgBox "Hi"(/code)

Bunta
10-16-2013, 01:45 PM
Thanks Kenneth. For some I could find advanced when posting. I had some trouble initially posting as well as it wouldn't let due to either a URL or a forbidden word. Not sure which but got it sorted. Tidied it up now.

Tommy
10-16-2013, 02:06 PM
Hi Bunta,

have you tried:

Sub combine() ' Find all the text files in folder to be processed
myfolder = "ABC"
Do While Len(myfile) > 0
Close 1
'remove first line
Print #2, Left(filestr, 7) & ">"
myfile = Dir
Loop
Close 2
End Sub

snb
10-16-2013, 03:21 PM
The same result, somewhat lesser code.

sub M_snb()
shell "cmd /c Dir G:\ABC\*.txt /b >G:\ABC\newfile.txt",0
End Sub

Bunta