PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Format in date

abraham30
11-25-2013, 04:52 AM
Hello everyone,

In my attached sheet, I want to convert the date from dd-mon-yyyy to yyyy/mon/dd format.
(irrespective of the othere data attached to it such as ~)
Sometimes, the date is available only in mon-yyyy format (e.g. OCT-1984 in row number 10) --> I want to convert this into 1984/OCT/--
Sometimes, the date is available only in yyyy format (e.g. 2013 in row number 13) --> I want to convert this into 2013/---/--
Please note that whereever there is a missing day or month or year, it will be filled with hyphen symbol (-)

I already asked the question in a forum but did not get any answer. can anyone help me.
Advance thanks

streub
11-25-2013, 04:15 PM
You probably have not received a response because more information is needed. You don't mention how the data is obtained or why you have it entered in the manner it is. I am not an expert but I would need to know.

abraham30
11-25-2013, 08:17 PM
My req is to convert years from dd-mon-yyyy format to yyyy/mm/dd format only wherever it is there.
Where ever value for day or month or year is not available, that will be filled with hyphen symbol(-)

See the output which require in column B in newly attached sheet

streub
11-26-2013, 05:51 AM
This is a great project for me to learn from but that doesn't help you immediately. I was able to write a macro that will split the text to columns and format the dates as required. I believe you need to "split", format, and concatenate but that is beyond my skill level. Have you considered a column for each date with a formula to determine the number of days? Formating the date with a custom "YYYY/MMM/DD" would be easier. I guess it depends upon how much data you have to change. Also, having "~days" in the same cell as a date makes it difficult.

EirikDaude
11-26-2013, 08:15 AM