PDA

View Full Version : The Replace method - A newbie needs help!

Mister_joe
12-03-2013, 03:50 AM
Hi All,
It is my first time here. I am also just starting to learn VBA. The code snippet below was copied from the Excel Help.

Sub ChangeCellFormat() ' Set the interior of cell A1 to yellow.
Range("A1").Select
Selection.Interior.ColorIndex = 36
MsgBox "The cell format for cell A1 is a yellow interior."

' Set the CellFormat object to replace yellow with green.
With Application
.FindFormat.Interior.ColorIndex = 36
.ReplaceFormat.Interior.ColorIndex = 35
End With

' Find and replace cell A1's yellow interior with green.
ActiveCell.Replace What:="", Replacement:="", lookAt:=xlPart, MatchCase:=False, SearchOrder:=xlByRows, SearchFormat:=True, ReplaceFormat:=True

MsgBox "The cell format for cell A1 is replaced with a green interior."

End Sub

The code does not work as expected. I do not seem to understand how the resulting CellFormat object has a connection with the Replace method. Can you clarify it for me, please.

Bob Phillips
12-03-2013, 04:00 AM
It works exactly as I expected. The cell is set to a yellow(ish) fill colour, and then changes it to a green(ish) colour using FindFormat.

It is probably not a good example of FindFormat though, because that code is more easily re-written as

Sub ChangeCellFormat()
' Set the interior of cell A1 to yellow.
Range("A1").Interior.ColorIndex = 36
MsgBox "The cell format for cell A1 is a yellow interior."

' Set the CellFormat object to replace yellow with green.
Range("A1").Interior.ColorIndex = 35
MsgBox "The cell format for cell A1 is replaced with a green interior."
End Sub

The example I just found in Excel 2010 is probably better as it uses FindFormat to inform what the format of a cell is

Sub UseFindFormat()

' Establish search criteria.
With Application.FindFormat.Font
.Name = "Arial"
.FontStyle = "Regular"
.Size = 10
End With

' Notify user.
With Application.FindFormat.Font