PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] Pass string to VBA application - IPC

Rudolfmdlt
12-12-2013, 01:44 PM
Hi All,

I am a complete VBA novice in need of advise and direction. I am an electrical and telecoms engineer and have some skill in Delphi and C++. I need to pass a string between a Windows based app to a VBA app sitting in excel/access in order to integrate an old CRM system with a new telecoms system. :doh:I have done Inter Process Communications (IPC) using the windows Send and Post Message API functions as well as Named Pipes, but always in a backend, data crunching scenario on compiled applications.

I need advice as to what works (best) for IPC with VBA? Can I take VB code and use it in a VBA application to receive a sent message without locking up the whole form? I am completely unclear as to how VBA would deal with interrupts and events while running within Excel or Access.

There is a very basic article describing the process for VB, would this be possible for VBA - support.microsoft.com/kb/176058 ?

Thanks for any direction or advice - I really appreciate your time!

Regards,

Rudolf

PS: If you're really interested, this is what I am trying to accomplish:
1) php site loads and executes hyperlink of form "testprotocol://UniqueCustomerID" #testprotocol is registered in the windows registry to launch my application: autohotkey.com/board/topic/71831-application-url-launch-local-application-from-browser/, this works like a charm, tested for putty, skype and itunes,.
2) Now, this Application needs to accept UniqueCustomerID and send it to MSAccess and MSExcel
3) MSExcel needs to use this ID to query a database and do some calculations based upon additional data using VBA.

I've cracked 1, and I have inherited 3, but I am not sure how to send the data to the VBA application.:thumb

Kenneth Hobs
12-13-2013, 09:09 PM