PDA

View Full Version : Word 2010 Find (but not replace) within Quoted text

kathrynloch
02-28-2014, 07:44 PM
Dammit, Jim, I'm an author not a coder! :help

Hi everyone,

I'm very sorry for having to post this because I know the answer is right under my nose, but my search-fu is weak and despite repeated tries, I'm stuck.

I'm a fiction author and use Word 2010. I write novels, so I have tons of dialogue.

I need to search for common words such as "to" (among others) but only in dialogue - because the word "to" is so common, if I do a general search, OMG - I'll be reading through this stuff forever. If I can narrow down the search to only dialogue it would help a lot. But I haven't found a way to tell word to search between quotation marks.

This can get really overwhelming to try to find manually. I'm trying to come up with a macro that will allow me to find text within quoted text but I can't have an auto replace, I have to look at every instance and decide if my "search term" needs to be changed or not.

I also have my auto correct on so Word changes my quotes to smart quotes.

I did find a code that I thought addressed my issue on a website - (I took out the http since I can't post links)
//word.tips.net/T011638_Finding_Quoted_Text_in_VBA.html

But when I tried it, Word just sat there and looked at me funny. :banghead:

I did an extensive search here, trying to see if I could find something to adapt but to be honest, I've been in editing mode for the past two days and my brains are leaking out of my ears.

I'd really appreciate the help - normally I'm pretty good at figuring out this sort of thing, but I'm striking out and stressing out because my deadline is tomorrow. :crying:

Thanks for your understanding!

Cheers,
Kath

fumei
02-28-2014, 08:37 PM
I am crossing my fingers here, but by chance is the dialogue in its own Style (and of course it should be...)? If it is, then it makes it a bit easier. If not, ummm, a lot harder.

kathrynloch
02-28-2014, 08:52 PM