PDA

View Full Version : Problem keeping control of a document created in a macro.

cjmitton
03-01-2014, 03:05 AM
Please forgive me if I've used the wrong terminology here! I've never had any proper training in VBA and everything I know is self taught via google / help files and help people in forums (generally this one!)

I'm writing a document creation system, but I have one very annoying issue at current that I can't seem to get my head around.

From a custom form I've created with in Word 2010 (32bit) my form has a series of list boxes / combo boxes / check boxes that depending on the selections will generate a letter.

When I create my base letter for all the rest of the information to be inserted in too I do the following code:

If chkbxSendEmail = True Then
Set StdCtrlDoc = Documents.Add _
(Template:="c:\dfa\Templates\Word\" & Department & "\Blank " & Department & ".dotx", _
NewTemplate:=False, DocumentType:=0)
StdDoc.Bookmarks("Date").Range.InsertDateTime DateTimeFormat:="dd MMMM yyyy", InsertAsField:= _
False, DateLanguage:=wdEnglishUK, CalendarType:=wdCalendarWestern, _
InsertAsFullWidth:=False
ActiveWindow.EnvelopeVisible = True
Else
' open standard letter template then insert date
Set StdCtrlDoc = Documents.Add _
(Template:="c:\dfa\Templates\Word\" & Department & "\LH " & Department & ".dotx", _
NewTemplate:=False, DocumentType:=0)
StdCtrlDoc.Bookmarks("Date").Range.InsertDateTime DateTimeFormat:="dd MMMM yyyy", InsertAsField:= _
False, DateLanguage:=wdEnglishUK, CalendarType:=wdCalendarWestern, _
InsertAsFullWidth:=False
End If

I have Declared the variable StdCtrlDoc as a document at the very top of the forms code so it available across all the sub routines in the form code.

The form then goes to various macro's with in the form to do stuff like get a address from a DB and insert it in to a particular book mark on the template. add various endings to the letter or insert images.