PDA

View Full Version : Figure Numbering Macro

nt3
03-11-2014, 07:14 AM
Hi All,

This is my first post to this forum, so I apologize if something is unclear. I have programming experience and I understand the very basics of creating macros in Word, but I'm new to VBA. I'm running Word 2007 on Windows 7.

Basically, I want to create a simple macro to go through a document and number figures. I thought an easy way to do this would be to create labels and references (/rF{} to refer to a figure and /lF{} to label a figure, kind of like in LaTeX). Suppose the text of my document is the following:

In Figure /rF{BadFig} we can see such and such. However, in Figure /rF{GoodFig} we see something else.

GoodFig goes here.
Figure /lF{GoodFig}. Caption stuff.

BadFig goes here.
Figure /lF{BadFig}. Caption stuff.

Figure /rF{GoodFig} is so much better than Figure /rF{BadFig}.

I would want this to be changed to the following after running the macro:

In Figure 2 we can see such and such. However, in Figure 1 we see something else.

GoodFig goes here.
Figure 1. Caption stuff.

BadFig goes here.
Figure 2. Caption stuff.

Figure 1 is so much better than Figure 2.

I'm not asking for a program like EndNote that will update the numbering in real time or anything that complicated (though that would be really nice). Rather, I'm just talking about a macro that will delete the reference and labeling text, and number the figures once I'm ready to share the document with other people. I can do this with find and replace, but it becomes tedious for many figures. Also, I know you can do something like this with figure captions, but I'd rather not mess with creating figure captions in Word. Furthermore, this general algorithm can be modified for equation numbers, which would be nice. I'd greatly appreciate any advice anyone can provide. Thanks!

~Nick

macropod
03-11-2014, 09:00 PM